Stepping Stones Blog

Sunday Salon: May 11, 2014

 

Happy Mother’s Day!  Our family celebrated last night, due to work schedules and mother-in-law plans, and we had a delightful time with one another enjoying a fabulous meal at Cooper’s Hawk Winery and walking around the Plaza (with a brief stop at Pandora for a special gift).  My son surprised me by coming into town on Tuesday, so I was blessed to have all my children (and most significant others) around me.  Brian and his wife return to Nashville this afternoon, but it sure has been nice to have them home for a few days.

Teaching:  This past week was quite significant as I taught the last class of my career.  My final duties this coming week include finals on Tuesday and graduation on Friday evening and then… I will retire.   I cleaned my classroom of nine years’ worth of educational supplies (although I did leave quite a bit of preparatory material for those who will follow in my footsteps), and that was when the reality began to sink in:  Retired.

I will save the nostalgic post for next week, but suffice it to say… this is a time of mixed emotions.

Reading:  I am not sure I picked up a book this week (I don’t remember the last time that happened…)  Between grading numerous essays, tests and research papers, as well as spending unexpected leisure time with my son and daughter-in-law, I have had little time to do anything else.  Not to fear, however, because as of May 19th, I will have LOTS of free time 🙂

Writing:  I have been asked to give the commencement speech at Friday’s graduation.  While I am indeed honored, I am also quite nervous.  It is one thing to teach English to a few students in a small classroom, it is quite another to properly honor them in front of their families.

After considerable thought I have developed a topic – Inspirational Truth in Fiction – and have collected suitable quotes and scripture verses.  While I have spent several days “mulling” … I have yet to draft a single word to paper.  This shall be my writing focus for the upcoming week.

Blogging:  I did manage to maintain the blogging schedule this week, mostly due to the fact that I pre-wrote two of the three posts.  Thank goodness I did not procrastinate, as I am wont to do.

  • Travel Tuesday – where I plan a weekend get-away in my hometown:  Kansas City
  • Writing Wednesday – where the 2nd post from Angela Hunt’s writing seminar focuses on Point of View and Character Development
  • Photo Friday – where I discuss the need to Avoid Comparison in order to find joy in life.

Artist Date:  For the past several years I have made graduation cards for our senior class.  We are a small private school, so this is typically no more than twenty cards, but it is one way that I can reconnect with students before they move on to new life adventures.

I have enjoyed paper crafts since I began scrapbooking in 1997, but it is one area of life that took a backseat once I started teaching.  I hope to devote more time to this passion in the future, and I even have plans to cultivate a personal greeting card ministry.

My artist date this week was to make these graduation cards.  I enjoyed researching creative ideas (yes… left-brained creatives research rather than fabricate original concepts), tweaking those ideas to work with the materials I had on-hand, and making the cards in assembly line fashion.

It was the perfect antidote to a week filled with stressful grading.

 

2 Comments

  1. joyweesemoll

    what a great opportunity to give the commencement speech! Those are beautiful graduation cards.

  2. You’re retiring? I look at your photo and think “Her? She’s too young to retire.” 😉 But best of luck on this new chapter in our life. It looks like you’re already off to a great start.

Leave a Reply

