Stepping Stones Blog

Sunday Salon: June 15, 2014

It is a rainy Father’s Day morning here in the Midwest; fortunately I planned an indoor lunch. The girls will come over around noon and we will celebrate this special day with barbecue brisket, baked beans, potato casserole, and coke cake with homemade vanilla ice cream.  Yummmm!

A new sculpture at the arboretum: Monet painting the garden’s Japanese Bridge.

Reading – Writing – Blogging:  I had dinner with a friend this week who asked how “retirement” was going, to which I responded, “Ok… but I just don’t seem to get as much done as I would like.”

She follows my blog and commented on the number of weekly posts, saying that I seem to write quite a bit.  This was a gentle, yet necessary, slap on the wrist.  My expectations are still unrealistic and I need to loosen up.

So I continue to focus on reading and writing and artist dates … and I consistently blog about those efforts in weekly posts.  It is a lifestyle that is working for me now, and I need to enjoy and stop pushing so hard.  The blog posts for this week included:

A close-up of the sculpture’s “painting”

Artist Date:  This week I took myself on an adventure.  I am intrigued by Geocaching, and just recently, Letterboxing, although I have not had much luck.  Have you participated in these activities?  If so, I would love to hear your experiences and possible tips.

Anyway… this week I went to the Arboretum to find a cache or two (no luck) and take some pictures of nature.  It was invigorating and relaxing at the same time.

I so thoroughly enjoyed myself, however, that I hope to duplicate the experience by visiting Powell Gardens.  I love the idea of combining moderate exercise, photography, meditation on nature, and exploration for treasure.  It’s practical, peaceful, and playful.  PERFECT!

I wish you wonderful Father’s Day celebrations – and a good, literary week.

 

4 Comments

  1. I went back and read your 10,000 steps post and think, like me, you sometimes overthink things. However, that said I think it’s good to be reflective too. For me, it’s about finding balance, something that’s not easily done…. Hope you enjoy the rest of your day in spite of the weather.

  2. Yes, Bryan – I MOST DEFINITELY overthink things 🙂 It is my hope that writing will help me get out of my head (just a little…)

  3. I posted a photo from the JoCo Arboretum today too! It’s so beautiful there. My kids think it’s fun to sit on the bench with Monet. 🙂

  4. Molly – I enjoy reading about your journey into retirement… there are so many positives in your life now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

