Stepping Stones Blog

Sunday Salon: June 22, 2014

Weather-wise, our June has been bi-polar.  The first part of the month was cool and rainy; this week has been hazy, hot, and humid.  I long for something a bit more temperate and less temperamental.

For the baseball fans out there, we rejoiced for a day as our Kansas City Royals held the number one spot in their division … and over the weekend we have witnessed them once again snatch defeat from the jaws of victory.  It is still early in the season, I know, but unfortunately their track record does not bode well.

Rather than watch today’s televised game, I think I will pick up a good book and read.

Reading – Writing – Blogging:  The good news is… I like my blogging routine.  I am learning that the more I write, the more ideas I develop.  It is not a matter of using up creativity, it is a matter of priming the pump.

The bad news is… I do not like my lack of reading routine, but I think I have diagnosed the problem.  I intentionally save reading for the evening:  it allows me to focus on writing first, and it is a great way to wind down.  Unfortunately, I am also physically and mentally tired; if I allow myself to start watching mindless television, I am not disciplined enough to stop, walk upstairs, and read.   And then of course there is the basset, who tends to whine if left alone too early in the evening.

So… I think I will try taking a book downstairs, turning the television down low, and allowing the basset to sit beside me on the couch.  We’ll see how that goes…

Blog posts this week include:

Artist Date:  In an effort to return to a simpler, more carefree time in my life, I spent about an hour coloring on Saturday afternoon.

I have decided I need to add more fun in my life rather than always focusing on productivity.  Coloring is an activity that I do not have to worry about doing “well enough” and it requires no talent.  The perfect foray into “fun”

Of course, I experienced some moments of insight during that hour (I still can’t turn the brain off) which I will share in future posts.  But for now, I may put this picture on the refrigerator… just like the good ole days.

I think summer storms tomorrow are supposed to usher in cooler temperatures for the rest of the week.  I hope to take advantage of the nicer weather by venturing on a photo safari, perhaps reading outside at the local park, and in general appreciating the temperate before the oppressive July heat returns for good.

2 Comments

  1. We’re enjoying a lovely thunderstorm at the moment! I hope that brings in cooler weather. I’ve got my fingers crossed for the Royals this season…

  2. Molly – I tend to save reading for the evening and often end up tired and unable to concentrate, too. Do you ever listen to audiobooks on your walks? That allows me an hour most mornings… and makes me look forward to my walks even more!

Leave a Reply

