Stepping Stones Blog

Discovering the Soul’s Agenda: Heart’s Desire (Part 1)

Last week I discussed my personal journey that has led me to develop a Writer’s Manifesto.

I mentioned the book, Finding Meaning in the Second Half of Life by James Hollis, which suggests we all have a soul’s agenda, and by remaining faithful to that agenda, we will find meaning and purpose in life.

Through several months of deep introspection using a system that evolved over time, I came to a point where I could identify my soul’s agenda, which has given me a focused direction in life that not only brings meaning, but also joy and fulfillment.  Over the next four weeks I will detail the four components of that system:

  • Heart’s Desire
  • Core Values and Beliefs
  • Character Strengths (Skills and Talents)
  • Personal Stepping Stones (Experiences)

This week’s post will focus on Heart’s Desire.

I believe that everyone has a heart’s desire – a passion in life – something that grabs our attention with such gusto that it keeps us awake at night.  Some of us, however, may find that our passions are hibernating, or perhaps have lain dormant for so long that we fear they are in an irreversible coma.

It is vital to reconnect with those passions in life and discover ways to pursue them throughout adulthood.  I believe these passions, especially those that have been present with us for as long as we can remember, or God-given.  And I believe that God would not give us true desires if He did not also equip us to bring them to fruition.

Psalm 37:4 – Take delight in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.

As I was contemplating this first facet of the soul’s agenda, I brainstormed a variety of interests, hobbies, and pastimes that I have pursued over the years.  Ultimately, I was able to categorize those interests into three primary passions:  a close-knit family, international travel, and life-long learning.

But as I further analyzed these desires, I discovered that they could be summed up as this:

  • Create lasting memories as often as possible, and preserve those memories for future generations.

For me, these memories are often in the form of family vacations. I have always traveled with a camera in hand, and I believe this visual documentation helps us to relive these joyous moments year after year. I also believe that writing the stories behind the photographs, and communicating the lessons learned are beneficial to the present as well as future generations.

But memories do not always have to be exotic to be worthy of documentation. Often the most poignant are made in every day, ordinary living. And it is equally important to write down these stories so that our children’s children will know and understand our traditions, values, and beliefs.

We are called to leave a legacy, and I am dedicated to that call.

Proverbs 13:22a – A good person leaves an inheritance for their children’s children.

1 Comment

  1. cathyensley

    This is one of my heart’s desires as well. But, oh, my. We just returned from the Canyonlands area of Utah. I took so many pictures!

    I’ve always disliked the new pocket scrapbooking (via Becky Higgins). There’s little room for creativity with it. But now I am beginning to see some of its merits. Seeing that I can still be creative, but in a smaller way, I ordered supplies.
    The bonus is that I will have far, far more time to spend on writing my fiction manuscripts–another big heart’s desire at this time.

Leave a Reply

