Stepping Stones Blog

Discovering the Soul’s Agenda: Core Values (Part 2)

These past two weeks I have posted about the process of discovering the soul’s agenda.

The first week served as an introduction which will eventually culminate in sharing my Writer’s Manifesto.

Last week focused on the first step in the process:  following the Passions of your Heart.

The second step will be the focus on this week’s post:  discovering your Core Values and Beliefs.

We all have them:  core values or beliefs that are at the center of our identity.  Sometimes they can be summed up in a catchy phrase, such as Moderation in Everything or Love Conquers All, and other times they can be found in a character trait, such as being Responsible or Organized.

There are several lists available online to help you identify such values – a rather comprehensive list can be found here.

My first step was to read through the printed list with a highlighter, indicating any words that resonated with me on some level.  This probably narrowed the number of values to around 50.

Next, I reviewed the refined list and eliminated any that I thought were not truly at the core of my identity.  This reduced the list by one-half.

I then reviewed the remaining values and combined those that I thought were similar, such as responsibility and accountability.  This brought the list down to ten.

Finally, I made one final run-through to bring the list to a manageable total of FIVE core values.

Now my goal is to incorporate these personal values and beliefs into every day living in order to live an authentic life.

  • Balance – I believe in moderation of all things. Moderation of work and play; eat and drink; social time and introspection…etc.
  • Contentment – I believe that practicing gratitude is key to cultivating a joy-filled life.
  • Family – I believe that the importance of family relationship is second only to a personal relationship with God. But this requires quantity as well as quality time.
  • Spirituality – I believe in a sovereign God whose omniscience is superior to my limited perspective. I am grateful that He sent His only son as my savior so that I may readily accept His gift of Grace and no longer be a slave to perfectionism and trying to earn His favor.
  • Significance – I believe that we have all been put on this earth for a specific purpose, and that purpose is not self-seeking but rather to help and serve others. Life-long learning and in turn teaching others what I have learned is the mean by which I achieve this significance.

These values, combined with my Heart’s Desires:  Family Travel  Making and Preserving Memories  … is a good start to discover my soul’s agenda for the second half of life.

Next week I will focus on the third step which is identifying Character Strengths, Skills, and Talents.

Leave a Reply

