Stepping Stones Blog

Sunday Salon: November 9, 2014

gratitude-6How is it possible that we are close to the middle of November?!  UGH… I hate when I have to admit my mother was right:  time really does pass faster as we age…

Reading:  I am afraid reading took a backseat this week.  With NaNoWriMo concerns, and a writing conference this weekend, there just wasn’t time.  HOWEVER… this week is a different story and I have a variety of choices:  Memoir, Middle Grade historical fiction, or Holiday novellas.  I am giddy with anticipation!

Writing:  This was my primary focus of the week.  I managed to review five chapters of my NaNoWriMo piece.  I didn’t actually revise, but I did correct glaring grammatical errors and make copious notes.

The HACWN writing conference was this weekend:  opening ceremony Thursday night and breakout sessions all day Friday and Saturday.  Included in the registration was an opportunity to meet with two editors.  While this was definitely outside my comfort zone… I knew this was an opportunity I could not pass.

So I focused my efforts this week to write two articles PLUS a query letter (a first for me).  In the end, I did meet with the editors and pitched my ideas (another first).  I learned how to adapt these ideas for each publication, and I did gain permission to email these editors with future submissions.

The breakout sessions were good, and I learned a lot – mostly about platform and the need for authors to build an audience and market their message.  My head is full and there is much to process.  Perhaps someday it will become the topic of a future blog post.

Blogging:  After two days of stressing about NaNoWriMo … two days of falling further and further behind… two days of realizing November was not going to be joyful if I kept this up… I decided to let go of unrealistic expectations.  I needed to enjoy writing – and life again.  You can read about here … if interested.

I have managed to continue blogging about my 30 days of Gratitude.  I still refuse to pressure myself to post daily, although I have created a list of over 35 things for which I am grateful. I do plan to meditate and show thankfulness daily for those blessings, but if I miss a blog post or two (or three…) that’s ok.

Pondering:  Interestingly enough… after attending this writing conference I question whether I am really called to write.  Don’t get me wrong – I know writing is a part of my DNA, so I will never give it up.  And I will continue to write with the hope of publication – for doing otherwise would indicate a lack of faith in myself and in my God.

But I do wonder if perhaps my true calling is to be a writing instructor.  I LOVE – I mean ADORE – to teach writing.  I only retired because I loathed giving a quantitive assessment to those written efforts.

I fervently believe that everyone has a story to tell, and I am passionate about encouraging and inspiring others to write and share their stories for future generations.  I am not sure how this will manifest itself… bu that’s ok.  I have faith there is a way, and in the meantime, I will enjoy the journey.

2 Comments

  1. I don’t know why I don’t have your blog in my feed reader and only catch your Sunday Salon posts. Going to correct that now…okay, now that that’s done, let me comment here. I like that you’re not pressuring yourself with your reading, writing or blogging. I’m trying not to do that either and letting the river flow where it will.

  2. readerbuzz

    I’m with you and Bryan. I signed up for NaNoWriMo but I’m not worried if I don’t work on it every day.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon!

Leave a Reply

