Stepping Stones Blog

Sunday Salon: November 23, 2014

Most of my activity this week has surrounded final preparations for upcoming trips.  Since they were booked months ago, I have managed to contain my excitement – until now.  Here is a countdown of forthcoming events:

  • Thanksgiving = 4 days away
  • Christmas = 31 days away
  • New Year’s = 38 days away
  • Family Cruise = 56 days away
  • Two-week European Tour with 37 students/parents = 112 days away

I anticipate the next few weeks will be a blur of last-minute preparations, high level excitement, and once-in-a-lifetime experiences.  Fortunately I will have my camera with me at all times, documenting all memorable moments to be relived and enjoyed for years to come.

Reading:  Ok… so last week I shared my theory that reading before bed creates an automatic response:  SLEEP.  So I decided to stop reading at bedtime in order to reverse this learned behavior.

The good news:  I kept the promise.  I did not read in bed.

The bad news:  I did not read.

While I am disappointed in myself … I refuse to give up.  I shall try again this week (or maybe next… this week is pretty busy with Thanksgiving preparations… I don’t want to set myself up for failure).

Writing:  My writing this week has taken a slightly different direction.  While I am still committed to the writer’s manifesto, focusing on travel articles, middle grade fiction, and personal essays, I have spent most of this week developing a marketing plan.

I recently shared my writer’s conference experience: I left feeling a bit disappointed.  I was convinced I should write, but unsure of my message.  That is no longer the case!

I now have a direction that combines my interest in photography, my love of teaching, and my desire to help others tell their story.  I even have a working title, Milestone Memoirs, and have started to assemble ideas for future blog posts and group presentations.

I am excited – energized – and ready to put this business plan in motion by January 1st.

Blogging:  All the business writing caused me to post an addendum to my soul’s agenda.  I also continued my 30 days of gratitude, which I have greatly enjoyed.  While blogging everyday is too much pressure to maintain indefinitely, I do plan to continue the practice of reviewing life’s blessings on a daily basis.

Here in the United States we are preparing for Thanksgiving Day this Thursday.  For those who celebrate, I wish you peace and joy as you gather around the family table for the traditional turkey dinner.  And for others, I wish you blessings this final week of November.

7 Comments

  1. readerbuzz

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, too!

    Here’s my Sunday Salon!

  2. I know a little of what that is like: getting excited for upcoming events. This past year, it was a wedding for my sister-in-law in October and now it’s Thanksgiving and Christmas breaks. But trips are so exciting, especially a cruise and Europe! How cool those will be, I can’t wait to see the photos…speaking of photos, I have to go catch up with your 30 days of gratitude. It sounds like you have so much to be thankful for. As for reading, it will come. I’ve been in a slump for a while and may be getting out of it this week. If not, though, I’m not beating myself up about it. I’ll just enjoy the Netflix bingeing. 🙂

  3. Ah…. Netflix binging … yes, I could do that too! Gilmore Girls and Downton Abbey are at the top of my “want to watch some day” list.

  4. joyweesemoll

    Happy Thanksgiving! Sounds like a real breakthrough on your writing! Looking forward to watching it play out.

  5. Your upcoming trips sound amazing!!! We would love to go on a big family cruise but I’m not ready to take the plunge with the little ones.

    I fall asleep while reading in bed as well. I don’t mind but it does get frustrating to not have very much reading time otherwise throughout the day.

    Sounds like a great breakthrough with your writing! I hope that you have a wonderful Thanksgiving week.

Trackbacks

  1. 30 Days of Gratitude: Travel | Stepping Stones Photos

Leave a Reply

