Stepping Stones Blog

Sunday Salon: December 14, 2014

We took advantage of the unseasonable warm temperatures today (65 degrees!) and went to the Plaza for lunch.  We decided to celebrate my birthday a day early (not that I really keep track of the years anymore) and went to The Melting Pot.  It was our first time to visit, but it will definitely not be our last.  The classic cheese fondue was exactly as I remembered when I was in high school, and the chocolate toffee crunch was a decadent ending to a fabulous meal.

While it was nice to walk around in shirt sleeves, I must admit that I am looking forward to colder temperatures and possible snow by the end of the week.

home sweet anywhereReading:  While I have maintained my daily reading of advent devotionals, I must admit that other outside reading has taken a backseat to holiday preparations.  We had a baking day on Friday (which meant a prep day on Thursday), and I am trying to catch up on knitting projects and Christmas cards.

My husband, however, recently finished Home Sweet Anyway on audio and LOVED it.  While I am the one who recommended the book to him, he is now chomping at the bit for me to finish so we can begin planning our retirement get-aways.  So, that is the book on my nightstand to read next.

Blogging:  I began to detail the process of creating a Milestone Memoir by focusing on the first step, Brainstorming a Theme… and I continue to enjoy writing about the 31 Days of Christmas Joy.

One-Word Update:  Last week I shared some possibilities for my 2015 word of the year.  At that time, I thought perhaps REST would be the winner.

But then Deb commented that she was considering PLAY as her word of the year, and that really resonated with me.  Not wanting to appear totally unoriginal, I decided to conduct a word association session using “play” as my starting point.  Through a series of bunny trails (discovering synonyms such as amusement, recreation, fun…) I discovered the word DELIGHT.

I love the richness of this word.  The fact that “light” can relate to illumination (dispelling the darkness) as well as weight (releasing a heavy burden).  DELIGHT has connotations of extreme joy as well as relaxed and carefree days.  We can DELIGHT in an activity (such as play), but we can also take delight in another person.

I still have a couple of weeks before I need to make the final decision, but for now, DELIGHT is in the lead, with a strong desire to add more PLAY in life.

1 Comment

  1. Didn’t know there were so many ways to look at “delight.”

Leave a Reply

