Stepping Stones Blog

My Soul’s Agenda: an addendum

We are all a work in progress, aren’t we?  Well… at least I am.

This blog has chronicled my soul-searching over the past six months.  When I retired in May, I knew I wanted to write – but what?  I knew I had a passion to teach writing – but how? I firmly believe everyone has a story to tell – but why is it so difficult for me to start writing my own?

In an effort to answer these questions, I developed a series of Stepping Stones worksheets to help me identify what James Hollis calls, a soul’s agenda.  This life purpose is composed of our Heart’s Desires, Core Values, Character Strengths, and Personal Experiences.

Ultimately this led me to draft my Writer’s Manifesto and declare myself a writer (gulp!)

Once I accepted writing as part of my life purpose, I needed to identify the message.  While I have varied interests – travel writing, middle grade fiction, personal essays, etc – I continue to focus on the theme, Everyone has a story to tell.  In fact my tagline reads:  Connecting with others through story.

Ok… so I have identified the vehicle (writing) and the message (everyone has a story to tell).  But I still needed to discover the HOW?  I have no experience in memoir writing, and I am struggling to begin writing my own.  I want to teach others to share their stories, but I have no credentials.  I felt incomplete…adrift.

I attended the writing conference in the hopes of solidifying a direction. Instead, I left wondering if becoming a “published author” was my true calling.  I wasn’t disappointed or dejected, just confused as to what next step to take.

But in God’s perfect timing, I now know that next step.

It combines my vision for one photograph (worth 1,000 words) plus one essay (about 500 words) for a thorough exploration of a topic.  It allows me to use my creativity with color and design.  It will help me tell my story, and will provide opportunity to teach others how to tell theirs.  I have over ten years experience in the field and feel qualified to assist others in leaving a legacy.

It may not lead to a book contract.  It may not provide publishing credits.  But it will use my writing and teaching skills in a meaningful way.

Scrapbooking is my comfort place – it is my home – it is my soul’s agenda.

So while this blog will continue to provide posts on writing and travel and personal insights … it will also focus on scrapbooks and helping others tell their story for future generations.

I hope you will continue to explore this second half of life together with me.

2 Comments

  1. cathyensley

    Ali Edwards is doing this so wonderfully using Becky Higgins’s pocket pages, plus Ali’s own digital files for sale. Do you follow Ali’s blog? I think you would enjoy it.

  2. Hi Cathy! I have not followed Ali’s blog for quite some time. Thanks for the great reminder 🙂

Leave a comment